For Columbus Day I went on my first fly fishing trip. My mom had the weekend off and my dad flew in the night before. The next day we headed north past the White Mountains, to the mighty Androscoggin River of northern New Hampshire.
The northern part of New Hampshire is absolutely gorgeous with large hills, cold rivers and vast forests. We saw bald eagles, loons, and many moose tracks.
This is how you can plan your version of our trip:
Where to stay: We got a nice waterfront campsite, for two nights at Molligwock state park. The price was good, and it’s short drive to Errol, N.H. Make reservations well in advance at nhstateparks.org. If you want to extend your stay or forgot something back home, stop into L.L. Cote the biggest store in Errol. They have everything from midge fly patterns to a .50 caliber rifle. If your hungry stop into the Hawgs Trawf and get a drink and a bite to eat if your tired of camp food and their one of the only places with wifi.
What to bring: I’d suggest bringing three rods: a #6 or heavier rod with sinking fly line, a #5 with floating fly line, and a light spinning outfit for fishing the deep holes.
A pair of chest waders is absolutely essential for making the most out of your trip. Giving you the chance to reach further out into the river and avoid the the high banks and trees.
I’d suggest bringing a box with your favorite nymph/wet fly patterns, some dry flys, and a couple streamers like the Autumn splendor. The two fish I caught were on a pink beadhead bugger my mother bought from L.L. Cote.
Here’s a gallery of photos from the trip and more will be coming soon. I hope others make a trip to the Androscoggin in the fall an unforgettable experience.

Franconia notch,

Franconia notch,

The early morning view from our campsite at Molligwock state park.

The early morning view from our campsite at Molligwock state park.

My mother casting,

My mother casting,

North country hot rod!!

North country hot rod!!

small rainbow trout on pink beadhead muddler,

Small rainbow trout on pink beadhead muddler,

