Course fish weekend

This past weekend was some of the best fishing ever. On Saturday my mom and I packed our birding and fishing gear and headed over to Mud pond a local kayaking hotspot. Our plan was to paddle out to a duck blind at the far end birding along the way.
We we hoping for the rare sighting of a rail or bittern, but we ended up with eastern kingbirds, american tree sparrows, blackbirds and a couple small brown birds that we couldn’t identify . Still cool, I absolutely love kingbird flight pattern and we got to see babies.
When we got to the duck blind I got out and looked inside, it was built with a bench to sit two or three guys and camouflaged with branches and reeds.
As it started to drizzle we made are way back working the lily pads with our fishing lures. After a stretch brake half way back, we both switched to spinners and tossed them into the open spots between the reeds. My mom on her first cast almost landed a golden shiner. I lagged behind at this one large opening and caught a golden shiner and two yellow perch.

This is the first perch it was 10

On Sunday we drove to a relatives who has a house on the Contookook River, in Hopkinton, N.H. After all us grandkids took a group photo, I went down to the river. I started off using these small minnows I caught in a net as bait, but I couldn’t keep them in the hook so I ended up switching to a black and white Dardevale spoon. The first thing I caught was a big surprise, I pulled in a mussel, the hook went right between the shells, I ended up using it as sunfish bait. The next thing I caught was much more exiting I had let the spoon drift and was slowly realling it in when something big hit it, I was using a fairly light # 6-12 weight spin casting rod the rod was a bent into a perfect C. A flash of gold came and went I at first thought it was a smallmouth bass. But after screaming for a net I landed a gorgeous 16″, 1 1/2 pound fallfish ( Semitilus corporalis). My second biggest fish up to date.

image

Leave a Reply

