Last Saturday my mom and I left home at 10:00 for a raptor /falconry show at Kittery Trading Post in Maine.
The raptor show we went to was called The Raptor Project inc. The show is run by Jonathan Woods, master falconer and wildlife rehabilitation, and his wife Susan Woods. They have the largest traveling collection of raptors in the world.
After doing some shopping we walked over to the tent right before the show started. He had an amazing selection of raptors a lot of them suffering from past injuries, including a red-tailed hawk hit by a car, a golden eagle hit by a pick up truck well-being flown at jackrabbits, and their mascot a 25-year-old bald eagle who lost part of his wing when he got hit by a semi well feeding on carrion on the highway. “(As you can see a lot of raptors injuries involve collisions with motorized vehicles.)

Even before the show started one of the birds made a big impression. The Eurasian eagle owl sitting placidly on his perch, locked his eyes on a Pomeranian who was sitting right next to us. Jonathon Woods had to ask the owner to leave since there’s no dogs at the show. The owl went from being content to hunting mode in second. I was totally surprised to look up and have this massive owl staring in our direction.
He flew so many amazing birds from the crested caracara that ran around on the ground and sounds like a penguin when talking, to the massive Golden eagle Maria.
The raptor project also had baby american kestrels and barn owls. So cute!
They flew one of my favorite raptor an Apalamado falcon, which had to be flown on creance because once at a sports arena it took off after a pigeon, both birds falling into the crowd.
I’m so happy that I went and got to see all these amazing birds plus a few more.

My dream bird an apalamado falcon.    When I got my photo taken with the bird the first apalamado kept bating off the glove so he had to switch to the baby.

My dream bird an apalamado falcon.
When I got my photo taken with the bird the first apalamado kept bating off the glove so he had to switch to the “baby,”

